János Jany

Office: Sophianum 313

E-mail: jany.janos@btk.ppke.hu

Jany Janos first studied law at the Faculty of Law, Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest. After finishing his legal studies with a summa cum laude degree in 1992, he began to study Iranian studies at the same university, Faculty of Humanities. He obtained his second degree with summa cum laude in 1996. During his doctorate studies in Iranian languages and literature (1996–1999) he visited for short term studies universities in Berlin, Boston, and Teheran. His PhD dissertation in Iranian studies was honoured summa cum laude at Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest in 2001. His second PhD dissertation in law and political sciences was also esteemed with summa cum laude at Eötvös Loránd University in 2008.

After teaching some years Iranian languages at Eötvös Loránd University he moved to Pázmány University where he organised International Studies and was nominated to be the first head of the Department of International Studies in 2006. When the Department of International Studies and the Department of Political Science joined to form the Institute of International Studies and Political Science in 2012, he was elected to head the Institute. He is also one of the founding members of the Doctoral School of Political Philosophy at the Faculty in 2013.

His field of research focuses on the Middle East, particularly on Iran, her legal, religious and social history, on the legal cultures of the Middle East and Central Asia in general, and their comparative analysis in particular. His research activity was supported both by the Hungarian Scientific Research Fund (OTKA) and the Bolyai scholarship of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. Honouring his high-level research activity, he was awarded with the Bolyai Plaque by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

He is a member of the Public Body of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and works as an advisor to the Hungarian Accreditation Committee. He is a member of the editorial board of the journal Kül-világ and also the member of the Comparative Judicial Studies Research Committee of the International Political Science Association.